Seismic Committee

Committee Chairs:
Rob Jackson. AECOM, Phone: (303) 843-2850, Email:

To assist SEAC members with issues related to seismic analysis and design in Colorado, and to represent committee consensus in national code development processes.

If you are interested in joining our committee and want to be added to the mailing list, contact us!

2018 Febr 15_Minutes

We hope to facilitate more ATC-20 training in conjunction with the SEER Committee. Earthquake Damage Inspection Training – FEMA P-154 ATC-20 ROVER – Colorado

Link to CGS:

The CEHMC meetings are held on the third Thursday of every other month in at the offices of TetraTech. Any interested parties are welcome to attend the meetings. Next meeting is Thursday, July 18, 2019.

Link to CEHMC:

Committee Updates

During 2019 we will be reviewing the Building Seismic Safety Council Member Organization ballots in support of ASCE 7 code development and review. Ballot 2 is now available. The files are now uploaded to the SEAC website under Seismic Standards. In order to access the files on this website go first to Resources, then File Archives and then Seismic Standards.

Our votes and comments on this ballot should be submitted by the end of June. At least one in-person meeting will be scheduled during June 2019 and possibly another phone meeting in support of this balloting process. Meeting times and locations will be determined before the start of June. Meetings will likely be at AECOM, 6200 S. Quebec, Greenwood Village, Mt. Belford Conference Room.

We also plan to schedule at least one more meeting in October.

The City and County of Denver is currently in the process of adopting the 2018 International Building Code with Denver Amendments. The SEAC Denver Building Department Liaison Committee has again assisted Denver with amendments regarding structural engineering. The Seismic Amendments are again included, basically the same as in past years, but with additional  documentation and bibliography added by Rob Jackson, who is also a member of the Denver committee. Link to the proposed Amendments are given below: